queen of faff

Welcome to my world – fancy a cuppa?

Pointless planning

4 Comments

I’m a planner. Without a shadow of a doubt. I like to know where I’m going, when I’m setting off and what I’ll be doing when I get there. That’s not to say that I don’t like spontaneity, but I can’t seem to stop myself planning. Spontaneity interrupts my planning in the most wonderful way. Because being a planner is exhausting.

It tires my mind when I need to rest, and tires my body when I’m busy ‘doing’ instead of ‘being’.

Needless to say being a planner isn’t really compatible with having a baby. And that was really good for me. I was surprised at how I didn’t desperately plan to every inch how I thought the birth of our baby would go (though my husband may disagree with my perception of myself here!), and admittedly I would have if I could have.

I wanted a water birth, I wanted it not to be snowing in the depths of January when I went into labour, I wanted to not need more than gas and air in terms of pain relief – but I accepted I couldn’t have all of those things when my waters broke at 4 in the morning, and various uncontrollable factors meant that I ended up on a monitor, thereby keeping my birthing experience on dry land, (the deep snow thankfully arrived after we had made it to hospital).

I expected that parenthood in general would curb my instinct to plan. I knew I couldn’t predict or control when the baby would come, and that largely her personality and our parenting choices would determine when she wanted to eat, sleep, play and so on. That doesn’t mean the planner in me lay dormant as soon as she was born. I find the feeling of “getting nothing done” really frustrating and it has taken me a while to realise that taking care of our baby every day is getting plenty done, even if the pots don’t get washed or the clothes for that matter. So I didn’t stop planning. But now I plan differently.

I plan pointlessly.

I make plans to go places or see people, and alter or abandon them completely when life gets in the way. It has been good for me to learn how unimportant almost all my plans are when what materialises in their place can be just as, if not more, fun/enjoyable/refreshing/relaxing/rewarding than I had anticipated from my day. Every day is different, every day brings me something new, something challenging, often something exhausting, but always something utterly delightful, from just being with our baby.

I am going back to work soon. My job needs me to be organised and to plan ahead. It also requires me to adapt quickly to constantly changing circumstances. It will be interesting to see which trait comes out on top when I get back.

Whatever the case, I think this time on maternity leave has shown me how to slow down and appreciate the moment I’m in. I hope I can hold on to that when my other life beckons.

4 thoughts on “Pointless planning

  1. Jenny, you write so well – really enjoyed this. It’s something I’ve tried hard to learn – as a childless (step) grandmother, it was a real struggle at first. and I think my stepdaughter with slight OCD tendencies and three boys under five is often challenged. H
    owever I am sure she would say the joys outweigh the lists that get ignored. Enjoy your last days of liberation x

  2. Ohhhhh, I completely get this, Jen :) Brilliantly written and makes so much sense.
    Paul

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.